RSS

All About Abstraction: No. 1

07 Apr

Jack Youngerman, Roundabout (1970) acrylic on canvas, 8’ in diameter

Jack Youngerman has a very neat way of representing color, lines, and form in his artwork which I found quite intriguing. Like many artists of the 1960’s, Youngerman was interested in what I like to call the invisible being made visible. Basically, he created abstract forms using images he created to be aesthetically pleasing to the viewer. In this piece, I really like the fact that the abstraction he uses includes tons of color. This reminds me of a marble with all of it’s many colors that glow within it and create a unique piece of art! Another thing to note about Youngerman is the way in which he uses colors and lines to create dimension. There is definite dimension here that allows the viewer to experience the piece on a whole different level than if it appeared to be flat and formless without true lines. The perspective is always an individual perception, but the way the artist creates dimension can provoke a perception without the viewer even having to think about it. I think that Roundabout is definitely one of those paintings. The colors shown are bright and vibrant which also make me think about the outdoors or a long Sunday drive in the hill country, and I personally find this painting very aesthetically pleasing!

To go along with the Sunday drive I was referring to above, I have added a link below that leads to a song from the ’70’s, and I think it describes something similar to a Sunday drive. Click the link below to listen!

Another video I have included talks about how to create a “fried marble,” which, to me, reminds me of the painting above. Click below to watch how they are created!

Anyways, I find this piece to be one of my favorites because of its uniqueness. I think the colors that create dimension are the main reason that I really enjoy looking at this piece and ultimately why I believe Youngerman used such vibrant colors. It is so simple that it is beautiful. I really like the quote that Leonardo da Vinci uses to explain simplicity when he says, “Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” I personally think that this painting is high art and should be considered high art. Although people do not take much time to consider art and its value much anymore, I think there should be great appreciation for the pieces of art that remind us of the simplicity that can be found in life!

I hope you enjoyed reading! I really like this piece a lot, and it means a lot to me personally. Sometimes we have to follow what Psalms 46:10 says, “Be still and know that I am God.” This painting reminds me of that, and all of the beauty found in Him!

-Gallery 9310, The Owner

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment