RSS

My Egypt

18 Mar

Charles Demuth, My Egypt (1927) oil on composition board, 2’ 11 ¾” x 2’ 6”

Charles Demuth outdid himself with this painting. I absolutely love the color tones and clear lines; I think it creates a very industrial and futuristic concept. “My Egypt” is a painting of a grain elevator, which according to Merriam-Webster Dictionary, a grain elevator is a building for elevating, storing, discharging, and sometimes processing grain.

Source: http://bit.ly/ZTXlpI

This piece of art is a representation of urban-industrial forces applied to the agrarian appeal. The intersecting lines are beams of sunlight happening over several periods of time: the passage of time & the 4th dimension. In the link below you will see a short video that will give an overview of the actual Pyramids in Egypt.

Demuth’s, “My Egypt,” contains light and bright colors that are varied throughout the entire work, and I really like how I feel that I can relate to the painting because of the colors and sharp lines. As I mentioned above, the video is about the real pyramids in Egypt, and the painting, “My Egypt,” is called this because he is comparing it to the Pyramids of Egypt. The presence of the sunlight references a celebration. I think Demuth was trying to show the celebration of the Pyramids being built through the sunlight rays that we see in each line and tone of colors found in the painting.

I hope you have enjoyed viewing this with me! This is by far one of my favorite paintings on exhibit!!

-Gallery 9310, The Owner

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment